Avalanche of Arrows

I do my best before all the people watching,

I mind my manners,

I tread lightly

I lie because those lies are what people want to hear

Then, when I am alone,

My lies catch up to me in the form of archers.

The archers have made me their mark

As they tighten their bowstrings I try to run

They take their aim, at my back
It’s all I hear

It’s all I think about

It’s all I feel

It’s all I know

It’s the Avalanche of Arrows
The arrows soar toward their target,

I hear the whistling they make in the wind

I call to me the Earth, beg and plead for it to rescue me

The Earth surrounds me and yet,
All that I hear,

All that I see,

All that I think about,

All that I feel, and know is the Avalanche of Arrows
As the earth surrounds me the din dies down

I cry,

I cry because the avalanche is waiting for me,

Beyond my wall of earth,

All that I hear,

All that I see,

All that I think about,

All that I feel, and know it is

The Avalanche of Arrows,

Brought on because I lied out of necessity

Still I lied,

Even if I lied for a good reason.

Still, the archers aim at me

For those lies

The archers are the only truth to my facade

I make sure the lies are thin and small,

So that my armor is strong when I run from the archers
All that I hear,

All that I see,

All that I think about,

All that I feel, and know it is

The Avalanche of Arrows.

Leave a Reply

